Flowered Sunset - Skagit, Washington

Skagit County is a county in the State of Washington. It is named after the Skagit Indian tribe that has lived in the area since long before European-American settlement. As of the 2010 census, the population was 116,901. It is included in the Mount Vernon-Anacortes, Washington, Metropolitan Statistical Area. The county seat is Mount Vernon, which is the county's largest city.

Skagit County was organized and taken from Whatcom County on November 28, 1883, before Washington was admitted as a state.According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,920 square miles (5,000 km2), of which 1,735 square miles (4,490 km2) is land and 185 square miles (480 km2) (9.65%) is water. It is noted for its broad, fertile valley of the Skagit River, a center for cultivation of tulips and strawberries.

Powered by Blogger.