Edinburgh, Scotland

Edinburgh is the capital of Scotland and seat of the Scottish Parliament and Government. It is Scotland's second largest city by population. The city is located in the south-east of Scotland, on the Firth of Forth in the Central Belt. The city centre lies 2.5 miles (4.0 km) south of the shoreline of Leith and 26 miles (42 km) inland, as the crow flies, from the east coast of Scotland and the North Sea at Dunbar.

The city was one of the major intellectual centres of the 18th century Enlightenment, helping it earn the nickname "Athens of the North". The Old Town and New Town districts of Edinburgh were listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1995 in recognition of the unique character of the Old Town with its medieval street layout and the planned Georgian New Town, including the adjoining Dean Village and Calton Hill areas. There are over 4,500 listed buildings within the city, a higher proportion relative to area than any other city in the United Kingdom. In the 2011 mid-year population estimates, Edinburgh had a total resident population of 495,360.

Powered by Blogger.